The Wet Nose Society
powered by Dog Friendly Britain

Basil and Poppy

Great Dane


View larger image of Basil

I am about 10 years old, we think. But I can't count and I don't do human years.


I like my big garden and having a dog flap means I can play outside anytime I like.

I am a gentleman - that is my nickname at the training class - The Gentleman.

My daddy says I am turning into a sloth and he has cut down my dinner as I am 2 kilos overweight. I get walked for 1-2 hours each day and I get only half what my wee sister gets to eat. I eat Royal Canin Great Dane food, oily fish once a week and yogurt. Mum says  I get evening primrose oil to keep my coat glossy and ease my old bones.

My Auntie Lynn gives me treats when we go for a walk. I like Auntie Lynn.


Just now mum gives Poppy and me camomile and valerian as we get upset by fireworks.


Basil's Friends

Visit roxy Visit Leo Visit Nelson Visit Meggie
Visit Poppy Visit chloe Visit Roxy Visit Bow
Things I love: I love my sofa. I love my wee sister, Poppy. I love walks in the Glen. Running frre on the beach. People who tell me I am beautiful or a good boy. Swimming. Barking at the window cleaner. I LOVE cheese. I am a Therapet.

Things I hate: Fireworks, white vans, men in white shell suits ( although mum says I am getting better at ignoring them) Poppy chewing lumps off my ear and making it bleed. Having to wear a head bandage and that stupid lampshade thingy, because Poppy chewed a bit off my ear.

My favourite walks: Down the Glen, round the village and up Wilderness Brae. The beach from Carnoustie to Monifieth. Or the FIfe Coastal walk. Linlithgow palace...

Other pets who share my home: I share my sofa with Poppy, 2 year old Black rescue Great Dane. She came from Auntie Jean at Scottish Great Dane Rescue. The goldfish in the pond in the garden. I am not allowed to swim with them. Poppy did so daddy built a new gste to stop us. It's not fair cos the pond is big enough for us to swim in...

My favourite saying: Hugs?? Slobbery hugs???

Breed: Great Dane
Type: Rescue Dog
Sex: Male
Country: United Kingdom
Owner: Basil McAllister
Email this dogs owner

Add Basil to your dog's friend list

Back to 's page