The Wet Nose Society
powered by Dog Friendly Britain

Dayna - the American Cocker Spaniel

Dayna's Days Out


View larger image of Dayna


My name is Dayna and I am a nine year old American Cocker Spaniel.  I am a retired show-dog.  I have been to Crufts many times, both in the Show Ring and also representing my Breed on the Discover Dogs exhibition.  I live with my daughter and grand-dogs and also my nephew and step-dogs.  I sleep with mummy and daddy (I am the only one who is allowed to!) and I love watching tv with them.

I am bathed and groomed every week, I love to look nice, hate being dirty, I always have some nice smelling shampoo and conditioner and then I am blow dried so my coat hangs soft and silky.  I love wearing diamante pretty collars, I have very long hair.  I am an unusual colour, a solid sable.  My daddy was sable and my mummy was black.


I love having visitors, especially when my auntie jenny comes to see us and brings her english cockers.  I am friends with Angel she's a blue roan, ruby who is red, and baby ebony who is six months old and black.


This year, my two grand-dogs did very well in their classes at Crufts, Cherry won a 3rd and George was 5th in his class, I love them to bits.

My pictures are of Cherry and George in their snoods at Crufts (cherry is black and george is sable like me).  The other group picture is of me with my grand-daughter Ruby and great grand-children Thomas and Lacey, we are sitting on the garden swing at their house.



 Last year, I went to Cornwall with mummy and daddy, it was their honeymoon.  We stayed in Looe where mummy used to go on holiday when she was little.  We found a lovely hotel called "The Fieldhead" and the man who owned it was very nice.

I loved going to Polperro, preferred to ride the little tram bus down to the town than walk as it was a long way.  We found 2 lovely pubs there were I was allowed in "The Pilchards" and "The Ship Inn".  I had some nice ice cream there too!.

I went to the Seal Sanctuary and saw all the Seals and other animals there, that was a nice day out and on the way back we stopped so that I could go for a run on the beach and paddle in the sea.  I had never been in the sea before.


April 2010

I have been very poorly, had to spend 2 nights in the vets hospital, had a blood test which showed I had a nasty liver infection.  Mummy and Daddy were very worried about me, especially as my birth mummy died of a liver problem.  I am getting better, but I have to take tablets every night and see the vet again soon for another blood test.  I dont mind, my Vet man is very nice and the nurses are kind to me.

May 2010

I have just had a follow up blood test and the results show that my liver infection is much better.  I am feeling a lot better and "back to my old self"  mummy and daddy are so relieved. 


When I was poorly, mummy found some lovely chicken doughnuts made for dogs in the supermarket that Jamie Oliver promotes.  They are so scrummy, nice and soft, I cant wait for them to come out of the cupboard! It says I am only supposed to have 4 per day, sometimes I get a few more, if I flutter my eyelashes at daddy!


Dayna's Friends

Visit Baxter Visit Alfie Visit abbi Visit Alfie
Visit Bentley Visit Molly Visit sam Visit Patty Visit Eddie Visit Amber Visit Milo
Visit Martha and Bailey Visit Baillie Visit melody Visit Merryck
Visit Fynn Visit Buddy Visit Darcy Visit Fern
Visit fudge Visit Doyle Visit Pepi
Visit Goldie Visit Flash Visit Stan Visit BEANO
Things I love: I love soft toys, especially if they can talk or sing. My favourite foods are pilchards, chicken and warm cooked liver. I love ice-cream and small bone biscuits. I love my bed, I have a mattress, duvet and a thick fluffy vet-bed to sleep on. My favourite collars are diamante, the more bling the better! I have some very pretty sparkly snoods which I wear to eat my tea, so my long ears don't go in my dinner. I like watching the Lion Man on TV with mummy and daddy.

Things I hate: I dont like cold lamb. I hate the rain and being wet, and dirty, I have a bath every week. I don't like Chows, when I used to go to Show training club there were some Chows there and they were noisy, I didnt like them at all, I used to bark at them to stay away from us. I am not keen on the car, mummy and I had a nasty car accident 6 years ago, and I am always a bit frightened it will happen again.

My favourite walks: I love to walk anywhere, as long as it is not too tiring or not too hilly, I get tired now as I am getting older, and I have recently been very poorly, so we take things steady.

Other pets who share my home: My daughter Roxy, Nephew Jamie, Grand-children George and Cherry, Friends Faith and Kristopher who I am Step-mum to, they were hand-reared because they nearly died as puppies.

My favourite saying: Its bed time!

Breed: Spaniel (American Cocker)
Type: Show Dog
Sex: Female
Birthday: 14/03/2001
Country: United Kingdom
Owner: Amerikaz
Email this dogs owner

Add Dayna to your dog's friend list

Back to 's page